MSU SENSOR SYSTEM

SMART 3-IN-1 MONITORING SOLUTION

MSU is a sensor-based assistance system that is integrated into OTT-JAKOB unclamping units, helping to increase the availability and efficiency of a machine tool. The unique concept of MSU combines three monitoring functions in one unit:

  • Identification of the drawbar shaft position
  • Detection of the piston position
  • Detection of leakage in the rotary union (optional)

Monitoring these parameters is essential to ensure a controlled production process. The measurement data is collected during machining so that information on the actual machine condition is obtained. These can be used as part of predictive maintenance for analysis and/or as a decision-making basis.

Ott Jakob Produkte  - MSU SENSOR SYSTEM

FUNCTIONS AND BENEFITS

Safe clamping and unclamping process
The position of the drawbar shaft is monitored by an electronic distance measurement system. This detects the exact position of the drawbar shaft and thus the current tool position by means of a target ring on the drawbar shaft. The system recognises the three clamping statuses "Unclamped", "Tool clamped" and "Clamped without tool". This information prevents the tool changer from removing the tool from the spindle too early or from starting the spindle before the tool is (correctly) clamped.

Reduced waiting times
The integrated piston sensing monitors the position of the unclamping unit piston and ensures that it has no contact with rotating machine elements during machining. As soon as the piston has reached a safe end position, a digital signal is generated for the machine control. This signal ensures that the piston is in the "Tool clamped" mode and that the spindle is released without any time delay. In addition, piston sensing can be used to implement an energy-saving and modern hydraulic system.

Process-integrated leakage monitoring
Optionally, a sensor for measuring the leakage flow in rotary unions can be integrated into an MSU unclamping unit. As an early warning system, it triggers a signal when the predetermined flow limit is exceeded. This way, the spindle is effectively protected against flooding.

OTT-JAKOB MSU Sensor system

Technical Data

Technical Data MSU sensor system

THE ADVANTAGES

Compact
The MSU sensors and evaluation electronics are pre-assembled in the unclamping unit.

Flexible
MSU can be integrated into almost all OTT-JAKOB unclamping units and adapted to special solutions.

Wear-free
Inductive sensors are used to monitor the unclamping unit piston and the position of the drawbar shaft. The sensor for leakage detection is based on the calorimetric principle.

Versatile
Further statistical information can be derived from the measuring signals, such as the number of tool changes. In addition, the integration of other sensors (temperature sensor, strain gauges) is possible.

MSU-SENSORSYSTEM

SMARTE 3-IN-1 MONITORING-LÖSUNG

MSU ist ein sensorgestütztes Assistenzsystem, das in OTT-JAKOB Löseeinheiten integriert wird und die Verfügbarkeit und Effizienz einer Werkzeugmaschine nachhaltig steigert. Das einzigartige Konzept von MSU kombiniert drei Monitoring-Funktionen in einer Einheit:

  • Identifikation der Zugstangenposition
  • Detektion der Lösekolbenposition
  • Erkennung von Leckage in der Drehdurchführung (optional)

Die Überwachung dieser Parameter ist für die Sicherstellung eines kontrollierten Fertigungsablaufes von wesentlicher Bedeutung. Die Erfassung der Messdaten erfolgt während der Teilebearbeitung, sodass Informationen über den tatsächlich vorherrschenden Maschinenzustand gewonnen werden. Diese können ganz im Sinne der Predictive Maintenance zur Analyse bzw. für weitergehende Entscheidungen genutzt werden.

Ott Jakob Produkte  - MSU-SENSORSYSTEM

Funktionen und Nutzen

Sicherer Spann- und Lösevorgang
Die Überwachung der Zugstangenposition wird über ein elektronisches Wegmesssystem durchgeführt. Dieses detektiert mittels eines Targetrings am Zugstangenanschluss die exakte Position der Zugstange und dadurch die aktuelle Werkzeugposition. Das System erkennt die drei Spannzustände „gelöst“, „Werkzeug gespannt“ und „gespannt ohne Werkzeug“. Durch Vorliegen dieser Information wird verhindert, dass der Werkzeugwechsler das Werkzeug zu früh aus der Spindel entnimmt oder die Spindel anläuft, bevor das Werkzeug (korrekt) gespannt ist.

Verkürzte Wartezeiten
Die integrierte Kolbenabfrage überwacht die Position des Lösekolbens und stellt sicher, dass dieser während der Bearbeitung keinen Kontakt mit rotierenden Maschinenelementen hat. Sobald der Kolben eine sichere Endposition erreicht hat, wird ein digitales Signal für die Maschinensteuerung generiert. Dieses Signal gewährleistet, dass sich der Kolben im Zustand „Werkzeug gespannt“ befindet und somit ohne zeitliche Verzögerung die Freigabe der Spindel veranlasst wird. Zusätzlich kann die Kolbenabfrage zur Umsetzung einer energiesparenden und modernen Hydraulikanlage eingesetzt werden.

Prozessintegrierte Leckageprüfung
Optional kann in eine MSU-Löseeinheit ein Sensor zur Messung des Leckagedurchflusses in Drehdurchführungen integriert werden. Als Frühwarnsystem löst dieser bei Überschreiten der programmierten Durchflussmenge ein Signal aus. Die Spindel wird auf diese Weise wirkungsvoll vor Flüssigkeitseintritt geschützt.

Technische Daten

Technische Daten MSU Sensorsystem

Die Vorteile

Kompakt
Die Sensorik und Auswertelektronik von MSU ist platzsparend in der Löseeinheit vormontiert.

Flexibel
MSU kann in nahezu alle OTT-JAKOB Löseeinheiten integriert und an Sonderlösungen angepasst werden.

Verschleißfrei
Für die Überwachung des Lösekolbens und der Zugstangenposition werden induktive Sensoren verwendet. Der Sensor für die Leckageerkennung basiert auf dem kalorimetrischen Prinzip.

Vielfältig
Aus den Messsignalen können weitere statistische Informationen abgeleitet werden, wie etwa die Anzahl der Werkzeugwechsel. Zudem ist die Integration weiterer Sensoren (Temperatursensor, Dehnmessstreifen) möglich.